Search the Help Center

Can't find the answer you're looking for?

Submit a ticket

Our GoGuardian Experts are available M-F 6am-5pm PST.

Submit Here

Interacting with Chromebooks (Commands)

Commands are the best and easiest way to ensure that your class stays on task. With a few simple clicks you can control their browser remotely, and if necessary, lock their screen. This is all done conveniently from the main session screen. There are four commands that you can issue to your students:

Any command that you send will be automatically recorded and can be reviewed by selecting the Command Log dashboard view.

 


 

Open Tab

Opening a tab allows you to direct your students to any* web page that you choose. Simply enter a URL and the page will open in a new tab on the user’s screen. To open a tab:

For one student:

  1. Hover over the student's name and click on the list icon* dots that appear.
  2. Click Open Tab
  3. Enter the URL
  4. Click on Open Tab

* Only available in timeline view.

For multiple students:

  1. Select your students from the list. To select the entire class check All.
  2. Click Open Tab
  3. Enter the URL
  4. Click on Open Tab

* If your students are also monitored by GoGuardian for Administrators their existing filter settings will still apply.

 

 


 

Close Tab

Closing a tab allows you to close any tabs currently open in your student’s browser window. This is done for each student individually. To close a tab:

In Screens view:

  1. Click on student's screen tile.
  2. Find tab you would like to close in the list.
  3. Click on X to the right of tab URL.

In Timeline view:

  1. Click on active tab icon.
  2. Find tab you would like to close in the list.
  3. Click on X to the right of tab URL.

 

 


  

Lock Screen

Locking a screen prevents the user from doing anything on their device. Additionally, locking the screen allows the teacher to display a message directly on the locked devices. To lock a screen:

For one student:

  1. In Screens view click the lock icon on the student's tile. Otherwise,
  2. Hover over the student's name and click on the list icon* dots that appear. 
  3. Click Lock Screen
  4. Type lock screen message (optional)
  5. Click Lock Screen

* Only available in timeline view.

For multiple students:

  1. Select students from the list. To select the entire class check All.
  2. Click Lock Screen
  3. Type lock screen message (optional)
  4. Click Lock Screen

Note: Any screens still locked at the end of a classroom session will automatically unlock without any further intervention needed.

 


 

Unlock Screen

Unlocking a screen removes the lock and displays the previously active tab on the student’s device. To unlock a screen:

  1. Select students from the list. To select the entire class check All.
  2. Click Unlock Screen
  3. Type lock screen message (optional)
  4. Click Unlock Screen

Note: Any screens still locked at the end of a classroom session will automatically unlock without any further intervention needed.

Powered by Zendesk